Jack in the Box Dairy-Free Menu Guide with Allergen & Vegan Notes (2024)

2

By Alisa Fleming onFast Food Restaurants

Updated May 2024! Jack In The Box is a U.S. fast-food chain known for burgers and Americanized International cuisine. They have over 2000 restaurants with a heavy concentration of locations on the West Coast. The ingredients that they use for their menu items are a bit convoluted, so it might be best to stick with the “already dairy free” items like the ones listed here rather than trying to special order. Nonetheless, we’ve included some breakdowns for their protein and bread options.

Jack in the Box Dairy-Free Menu Guide with Allergen & Vegan Notes (1)

Jack in the Box Dairy-Free Menu Guide with Allergen Notes & Vegan Options

This menu guide includes dairy-free menu options first, followed by some custom order components. Be aware of special order requirements in parentheses () next to the menu items, and see the Heads Up notes to help fill in the blanks.

Butter Note: Jack in the Box uses a butter flavored vegetable oil (“buttery sauce”) to toast their sourdough bread, “buttery” regular buns, and to fry their eggs and other items. According to the company, it does not contain milk, but does contain soy. However, they do use a dairy garlic butter on their Buttery Jack Burgers. Make sure your location does not use the dairy butter for cooking your order.

Fryer Note: Jack In The Box uses a canola oil and soy oil blend for deep frying. There is no “shared fryer” note, but we assume they do use a shared fryers to make the fries, hashbrowns, and onion rings (which contain milk), tacos, fish (seasonal), and chicken items (several of which contain milk).

Grill Note: Although there is no warning for fryer cross-contamination in their allergen guide, they label all grilled items as containing milk due to potential cross-contamination. Our guide is based on ingredients, including ingredients used for cooking to avoid confusion. There should always be considered risk of potential cross-contamination with milk throughout commercial kitchens. Speak with a manager about your best options if concerned about potential cross contamination.

Other Allergen & Dietary Notes: All items listed below are made without egg, peanut, and tree nut ingredients, unless otherwise noted in the name or in the parentheses. The fries and salads at Jack in the Box can be ordered without soy and wheat, and the hash browns are also made without soy. For vegan options, see the Vegan Menu Guide at the bottom of this post.

Breakfast

  • Hash Browns
  • Breakfast Jack with Ham, Bacon, or Sausage (no cheese) (contains egg)
  • Extreme Sausage Sandwich (no cheese) (contains egg)
  • French Toast Sticks – Regular and Cinnamon Sugar Churro Flavor(seasonal)
  • Loaded Breakfast Sandwich (no cheese) (contains egg)
  • Supreme Sourdough Sandwich (no cheese) (contains egg)
  • Ultimate Breakfast Sandwich (no cheese) (contains egg)

Heads Up! The Fried Egg is made without milk, but the Scrambled Eggs contain milk. The Mini Pancakes also contain milk. They incorrectly listed the “Meat Lovers Breakfast Burrito (no salsa)” as not containing egg or milk in the allergen guide, but it contains both.

Burgers

  • Bacon Ultimate Burger (no cheese)
  • Double Bonus Jack (no cheese)
  • Double Jack (no cheese)
  • Jr. Bacon Jack (no cheese)
  • Jr. Jumbo Jack (see Heads Up below)
  • Jumbo Jack (see Heads Up below)
  • Sourdough Jack (no cheese)
  • Spam Teriyaki Jr. Jack (see Heads Up below)
  • Teriyaki Jr. Jack (see Heads Up below)
  • Ultimate Burger (no cheese)

Heads Up! The “butter” used on the split top buns is reportedly a butter-flavored oil that is made without dairy. Make sure that your location does not use real butter on your burger. By their own ingredient and cooking information, the Jumbo Jack Burgers (regular and Jr.), Teriyaki Burgers (Jr. and Jr. Spam), and Grilled Onions are made without any milk. However, they are each listed as containing milk in the allergen guide. This might be due to potential cross-contamination on the grill with cheese. Verify at your location before ordering. The Garlic Herb Butter and Brioche Bun used for their Buttery Jack Burgers do contain milk. But the “Grill Seasoning” used on their burgers is just salt, pepper, and soybean oil.

Chicken & Fish

  • Chicken Fajita Pita (no cheese)
  • Chicken Teriyaki Bowl
  • Fish Sandwich (seasonal)
  • Grilled Chicken Sandwich (no good good sauce or sub dairy-free sauce)
  • Jack’s Spicy Chicken Sandwich
  • Popcorn Chicken (seasonal)
  • Spicy Popcorn Chicken (seasonal)

Heads Up! The Grilled Chicken Breast, Grilled Julienne Chicken, and Spicy Chicken Breast Fillet are made without milk. But the Crispy Chicken Fillet, Chicken Nuggets, Crispy Chicken Strips, and Chicken Patty at Jack in the Box do contain milk. The company notes that the pita bread on the Chicken Fajita Pita is made in a facility that processes milk. But every item on their menu is “made in a facility” (aka their restaurant) that handles milk.

Tacos & Wraps

  • Spicy Grilled Jack Wrap (no cheese, no dressing)(contains egg)
  • Taco, Angry Monster (no cheese) (seasonal)
  • Taco, Monster (no cheese) (seasonal)
  • Taco, Regular (no cheese)
  • Tiny Tacos
  • Tiny Tacos, Loaded (no cheese)

Heads Up! The Spicy Good Good Sauce on the Spicy Wrap is made without milk, but the regular Good Good Sauce on the on-spicy version contains milk.

Salads

  • Garden Salad with Grilled Chicken (no cheese, no croutons, sub dairy-free dressing)
  • Side Salad (no croutons, sub dairy-free dressing)
  • Southwest Chicken Salad with Grilled Chicken (no cheese, sub dairy-free dressing)

Dairy-Free Salad Dressings: Hidden Valley Balsamic Vinaigrette

Heads Up! The Creamy Southwest Dressing, Ranch Dressing, and Croutons at Jack in the Box do contain milk.

Sides

  • Curly Fries, Seasoned
  • French Fries
  • Halfsie Fries
  • Jumbo Egg Rolls (contains egg)
  • Rice
  • Side Salad (no croutons, dairy-free dressing)
  • Spam
  • Spicy Grilled Jack Wrap (no cheese, no ranch)
  • Tree Top Applesauce

Heads Up! The Onion Rings at Jack in the Box do contain milk.

Dipping Sauces

  • Barbecue
  • Creamy Avocado Lime (see Heads Up below) (contains egg)
  • Frank’s Red Hot Buffalo
  • Honey Mustard (contains egg)
  • Marinara
  • Pancake Syrup
  • Sweet ‘n Sour
  • Teriyaki

Heads Up! Jack’s Mystery (Good Good) Dipping Sauce contains milk. Please note that the Jack in the Box ingredient guide incorrectly has a “contains milk” statement for the Creamy Avocado Lime sauce. However, the allergen guide is correct. We double checked on the actual sauce packaging and it contains egg, but no milk (per our most recent review). It is a packaged dipping sauce, so you can verify before using.

Coffee Drinks

Heads Up! Jack in the Box does not currently offer any dairy-free milk alternatives for coffee drinks. But their Brown Sugar Boba, Caramel Syrup, and Chocolate Syrup are made without milk. You might be able to order these as add-ins to your regular or iced coffee in store (not available on the app).

Dessert

Heads Up! The Mini Churros, Oreo Cookie Bar, and Chocolate Cake contain milk. The dessert sauces and Oreo crumbles at Jack in the Box are made without milk, but they do not offer dairy-free shakes at this time.

Bread

  • Brioche Roll (NOT the Brioche Buns)
  • Buns, Gourmet Signature (NOT the Brioche Buns)
  • Buns, Regular (Glazed)
  • Buns, Split Top (Glazed)
  • Flour Tortilla
  • Pita Bread made with Whole Grain
  • Sourdough Bread, Grilled

Heads Up! The Biscuits, Brioche Buns, and Croissants contain milk. As mentioned above, the “butter” used on the grill is a dairy-free butter flavored vegetable oil. But they do use a dairy garlic butter on the Buttery Jacks. The Pita and Gourmet Signature Buns are either made in a facility or made on a shared line that processes milk. But every item on their menu is “made in a facility” or “on a shared line” (aka their restaurant) that handles milk.

Proteins

  • Bacon
  • Fish Fillet
  • Fried Egg
  • Grilled Chicken Fillet
  • Grilled Chicken Julienne Strips
  • Ham
  • Sausage Patty
  • Spam
  • Spicy Chicken Breast Fillet

Heads Up! The Crispy Chicken Fillet, Chicken Nuggets, Chicken Patty, Crispy Chicken Strips, and Scrambled Egg at Jack in the Box do contain milk.

Other Sauces and Condiments

  • Butter Flavored Vegetable Oil (for grilling)
  • Cinnamon Sugar
  • Creamy Bacon Mayo (contains egg)
  • Creamy Sriracha Sauce (contains egg)
  • Fire Roasted Salsa
  • Gold-N-Sweet Whipped Spread (a butter alternative cup)
  • Hot Taco Sauce
  • Jack’s Spicy Good Sauce (not the regular version) (limited availability; contains egg)
  • Ketchup
  • Kikkoman Soy Sauce
  • Mayonnaise (contains egg)
  • Mustard
  • Salt & Pepper Burger Seasoning
  • Secret Sauce (contains egg)
  • Syrup, Caramel
  • Syrup, Chocolate
  • Syrup, Prickly Pear
  • Syrup, Pumpkin
  • Syrup, Strawberry
  • Syrup, Strawberry Tangerine
  • Tartar Sauce (contains egg)
  • Teriyaki Sauce

Heads Up! Jack’s regular Good Sauce contains buttermilk. The Garlic Herb Butter is actual butter.

Other Toppings

  • Black Beans
  • Cucumber
  • Dill Pickle Slices
  • Green Chiles
  • Green Leaf Spring Mix
  • Grilled Onions
  • Jalapenos
  • Lettuce
  • Maraschino Cherry
  • Roasted Corn
  • Tri-Colored Tortilla Strips

Heads Up! The Croutons (Wheat Caesar) at Jack in the Box do contain milk.

Jack in the Box Vegan Menu Guide

  • French Toast Sticks – Regular and Cinnamon Sugar Churro Flavor
  • Teriyaki Bowl (no chicken, extra veggies)
  • Southwest Salad with Balsamic Vinaigrette (no cheese, no chicken, extra beans and veggies)
  • Side Salad with Balsamic Vinaigrette (no croutons)
  • Curly Fries, Seasoned
  • French Fries
  • Halfsie Fries
  • Rice
  • Side Salad (no croutons, dairy-free dressing)
  • Tree Top Applesauce

Vegan Breads & Buns

  • Brioche Roll (NOT the Brioche Buns)
  • Buns, Gourmet Signature (NOT the Brioche Buns)
  • Buns, Regular (Glazed)
  • Buns, Split Top (Glazed)
  • Flour Tortilla
  • Pita Bread made with Whole Grain
  • Sourdough Bread, Grilled

Vegan Sauces & Condiments

  • Barbecue Dipping Sauce
  • Butter Flavored Vegetable Oil (for grilling)
  • Cinnamon Sugar
  • Fire Roasted Salsa
  • Frank’s Red Hot Buffalo Sauce
  • Gold-N-Sweet Whipped Spread (a butter alternative cup)
  • Hot Taco Sauce
  • Ketchup
  • Kikkoman Soy Sauce
  • Marinara Dipping Sauce
  • Mustard
  • Pancake Syrup
  • Salt & Pepper Burger Seasoning
  • Sweet ‘n Sour Dipping Sauce
  • Syrup, Caramel
  • Syrup, Chocolate
  • Syrup, Prickly Pear
  • Syrup, Pumpkin
  • Syrup, Strawberry
  • Syrup, Strawberry Tangerine
  • Teriyaki Dipping Sauce
  • Teriyaki Sauce

Other Vegan Toppings

  • Black Beans
  • Cucumber
  • Dill Pickle Slices
  • Green Chiles
  • Green Leaf Spring Mix
  • Grilled Onions
  • Jalapenos
  • Lettuce
  • Maraschino Cherry
  • Roasted Corn
  • Tri-Colored Tortilla Strips

This Post is for Informational Purposes Only

Menus, ingredients, kitchen procedures, management, food sourcing, and restaurant protocols are subject to change at any time. Always read the menu and discuss your dietary needs with the staff before ordering. Make sure they can accommodate your situation. This post is for informational purposes only, and should not be construed as advice.

There is always a risk for potential cross-contamination of allergens in any commercial kitchen. If cross-contamination is an issue for you, always speak with the manager to ensure that your meal can be safely prepared. Listings here do not guarantee that a restaurant is safe enough for your individual needs. Only you can make that decision.

Each location of a chain restaurant has different management and staff, and some might have different owners. This means differences in processes, ingredients used, menu options, and food sourcing can occur. Always verify the safety of your order for your needs at your current location.

Jack in the Box Dairy-Free Menu Guide with Allergen & Vegan Notes (2)

Where to FindJack In The Box

There are over 2000 Jack in the Box locations, and they are almost exclusively in the United States. In fact, the large majority of them are in the Western states.

Website: www.jackinthebox.com

4.7

4.7 out of 5 stars (based on 3 reviews)

Excellent67%

Very good33%

Average0%

Poor0%

Terrible0%

Amazing but one thing-

September 6, 2023

I love all of these go dairy, free things, but the creamy avocado lime sauce ingredients list states at the very end “contains: egg, milk“. Otherwise I’ve had the best time using these to go dairy free restaurants ever since I found out my baby had a dairy (milk protein) allergy and I’m breast-feeding.

Jack in the Box Dairy-Free Menu Guide with Allergen & Vegan Notes (3)

Corina

Response from Go Dairy Free

Thank you for your concern! Jack in the Box has an error on their ingredient guide. It lists “contains milk” after the ingredients in that sauce, but there isn’t any milk in it. Their allergen charts correctly list the sauce as no dairy, and the actual packaging of the sauce itself (it’s a dipping sauce, with the ingredients and “contains” on top) shows that it does not contain milk. We’ll keep an eye out to make sure they aren’t rolling out a new formula, but according to the company, it is still the same and dairy free! We’ve added an extra note above to help with the confusion.

This was EXTREMELY helpful

February 12, 2023

I’m so glad sites like this exist! Finding vegan and vegetarian options at fast food can be overwhelming sometimes. Thank you!

Jack in the Box Dairy-Free Menu Guide with Allergen & Vegan Notes (4)

Kendra

Good

August 22, 2021

Very useful when son is allergic to milk

Jack in the Box Dairy-Free Menu Guide with Allergen & Vegan Notes (5)

Esmeralda

For More Dairy-Free Guidance, Get Go Dairy Free!

Jack in the Box Dairy-Free Menu Guide with Allergen & Vegan Notes (6)

Jack in the Box Dairy-Free Menu Guide with Allergen & Vegan Notes (2024)
Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Msgr. Refugio Daniel

Last Updated:

Views: 5886

Rating: 4.3 / 5 (74 voted)

Reviews: 81% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Msgr. Refugio Daniel

Birthday: 1999-09-15

Address: 8416 Beatty Center, Derekfort, VA 72092-0500

Phone: +6838967160603

Job: Mining Executive

Hobby: Woodworking, Knitting, Fishing, Coffee roasting, Kayaking, Horseback riding, Kite flying

Introduction: My name is Msgr. Refugio Daniel, I am a fine, precious, encouraging, calm, glamorous, vivacious, friendly person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.